• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 raddad73

raddad73

• Legacy Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 June 2017 - 06:39 PM

My 2018 328RL's tongue has a different pitch than the chassis of the trailer. So when the trailer is level the tongue is pitched up.

So here is my questions, when I hitch up do I consider the level of the tongue or the level of the chassis of the TT. When the tongue is level the TT is pitched forward.

Apologize if this is a stupid question.. Im new to this and just want to get it hitched close to perfect as possible.

thank you for any response.

#2 ajk170

ajk170

• Legacy Member
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 14 June 2017 - 08:22 PM

Ok- if by the tongue, you mean A-frame, this is a little odd. I found on my 316RL we have the receiver on the truck set lower than what the dealer originally had set for us. They had the trailer set to ride with the "tongue" or A-frame "up" or pitched upward. We found that this setup led to serious sway (we use the Blue Ox sway pro with 1500# bars). We dropped the receiver and now it rides "tongue down" and the sway is gone.

So if by "forward" you mean the TT looks like it is slightly pitched downward then IMPO you are ok.

Others like Oregon Camper maybe able to provide a better opinion- hope this helps.

Andy

#3 lgwatson0315

lgwatson0315

• Legacy Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 June 2017 - 09:24 PM

Here is a pic of my 2017 326rl it sits even when pulling
02f1b2dbff7c1dc6398753e1b85afc86.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 raddad73

raddad73

• Legacy Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 June 2017 - 05:14 AM

Thank  you for the responses.  I think I am going to set my hitch height so that the A-Frame is level, which to me would make the most sense. This will result with the trailer being pitched forward about half a bubble.  Please let me know if for some reason this would not be advised.

Thanks again.

#5 ajk170

ajk170

• Legacy Member
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts