Outbacker RV Forum banner

What Do I Watch Out For Buying A 21Rs/23Rs? What Are Some Must-Buys?

4K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  Christopher de Vidal 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hello, I'm new to RVing but I've wanted one since I was a kid :) The 21 or 23RS looks like the perfect size and weight.

What do I need to watch out for when buying one of these? What are some must-buys?

I've already decided that some jacks are in order, if it doesn't come with them. An anti-sway and weight distributing hitch. Awning screen room. Brake controller.

Does it have its own brakes?

Independent suspension?

#2 ·
Hi Chris:
I have a 23rs and have found the trailer to be fairly well built. There are plenty of modifications (some by me) if you do some searching.
The 23rs' have jacks at the four corners, absolutely get a weight distribution with sway control...don't get the friction type, it does not work well. We don't have an awning screen, I think you will find it is too much work to set up. Yes on the brake controller as it will have electric brakes.
When you are looking at trailers, try and find out the age of the tires, if they are 5 years or older, you will need to replace them. Mine went and that was with good looking treads.
Our camper has been out for 8 seasons and still looks great (except for the decals that have finally taken a beating due to the sun).
Also when looking at the camper choices, you should be able to tell right away if the trailer has been well taken care of by looking at the cleanliness as well as the smell when touring.
bbwb

#3 ·
Christopher from your questions you are really starting at the beginning. But you are really on the right path, keep asking questions and do plenty of research. (..) You can click on View All Floorplans and find out the basic specs and capacities of each trailer.