Outbacker RV Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Outbackers Contributor
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We own a 2000Merc. Mountaineer 5.0, V8 with a "sticker" in the door saying 5540 lbs GVWR......... Sorry for my ignorance- I am very new at this and looking to you outbackers for help! Our wheel base is 110" and we have the "towing package" on the truck.

I have been told by a dealer (who I want to trust but......)that we would have no problem towing this TT....

I know there is equipment/ tires to make this the safest towing experience. What would we need to get to improve our towing? Sway control... Different tires....... Load me up with suggestions so I can price it all out and feel confident I will not be destroying the truck or 21RS by cheapin' out of the stuff we really need.

Anyone else tow a 21RS with a Merc Mount or Ford Explorer?

Thanks

·
Registered
16 Posts
I tow a 25RS-S with a similar vehicle...Explorer. It has the 4.6 with the towing package.(blah, blah, blah) and it is ok. The suspension is squishy. You will definitely need weight distribution hitch (I suggest sway control). I am running the Reese Dual Cam system with a Prodigy controller and I am happy, but, because it is a lighter SUV, the sway and weight distribution system make the suspension feel squishy. The lease is up on the Explorer in December and I am going to consider a heavier truck for the suspension issues.

I just drove the 25RSS from NH to GA in January (Yes I am a nut), and it was fine. Gas mileage ranged from 7-9mpg, which meant stopping for gas every 140 miles or so, but it was ok.

Good luck.

·
Outbackers Contributor
5,038 Posts
Check your tires, are they good LT tires? The stiffer sidewalls on a LT vs. a passenger tire helps, and a hitch like the Equali-z-er hitch is a good WDH setup ($399 @ RVWholesalers.com).

Have you checked your weight of the camper? I have this piece that I share, hope it helps...

--
What is the GVWR of the camper? (1)