Outbacker RV Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Outbackers Contributor
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After removing the stock battery I am upgrading with two group 24 AGM batteries from Interstate Battery.
The advice needed is after 3-4 days of dry camping is it OK to hook up to the truck and drive off or do you think it might be too fast of a charge back to these batteries? Is there a common formula for figuring this one out?

Thanks,

Scott

·
Outbackers Contributor
5,038 Posts
Scott, I'm not an expert, but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night
Most of all Welcome to the Outbackers! What type of Outback do you have?

Ok now on to your question... Reality is that the small gage wire that runs back to feed the batteries isn't much more than a trickle charge at best. So you should be just fine. Considering that most RVers do this all the time it should give you even more assurance that it won't hurt your batteries.

On my PopUp the dealer ran a heavy gage wire back since the PopUp fridge runs of 12v and the heavy wire helped to assure the drain was off the truck and not off the battery while towing.

·
Outbackers Contributor
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
We bought an '03 21RS last Saturday, our return to modern camping! We had a '78 18 foot Nomad that we sold about 12 years ago and have been using a 14 foot Wells Cargo Cycle Hauler for just about everything including camping. Last October we were camping in the Gifford Pinchot NF at about 3,000 feet. We woke up to 39 degrees in the trailer and that was our inspiration to look for something a bit more "comfy". We found it after much looking and internet research.