Outbacker RV Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings, all. I just got back from buying a 21RS, to be pulled by my '98 Explorer- this is my first time towing anything this big, so I'm looking for any and all advise I can get.

I notice by the signatures and discussions that I've probably got the smallest TV out there, so I want to make sure its set up correctly from the start. My dealer wanted $1200 for all of the hitch equipment and installation charges, but wasn't quoting any brand names I've heard of, so I passed.

Here's some of my observations:

Does the friction-type sway control look goofy to anyone but me? Seems that friction should be for brake pads and clutch packs, not sway control. I'm leaning toward a Reese straight line dual cam setup, instead. Comments?

Everyone seems to like the Prodigy brake controller, so I'm leaning this way, too.

I'm also planning on a full brake overhaul (just to be on the safe side), a trans temp gauge (got the factory cooler, already), a cooling system flush, maybe change the water pump as preventative maintenance- it's got 70k on it. I already use synthetic fluids all around, so I should be okay in that department.

Whew, I don't know how I'm going to get to sleep tonight, but my two daughters and wife and I are sure looking forward to that first trip. Any advise or tips you can offer, I'm open to 'em! (I'll be spending the next few hours cruising this and other forums.) Thanks in advance.

-Kevin

·
Outbackers Contributor
3,580 Posts
Kevin,

welcome to the forum, lots of great folks here.

$1200 seems a little high, depends on if that includes the receiver for your truck though. If it includes that, it might be in line.