Outbacker RV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
567 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone and thanks for your help in buying my 2004 21RS. I've been a guest on the forum for a while now and it was a big help in deciding on the Outback. I think that many of us really research our trailer purchase and the Outback RV Owners Forum is a great resource.

My wife and I have been camping for 30 years. First in a Volkswagen Camper and then in a Coleman Sun Valley Tent Trailer. We have enjoyed the tent trailer, but after 20 years it was time to move up! We live in Central California and love to head over to the Central Coast area. Two weeks ago we made the first trip with the Outback and everything went just fine. My wife said it didn't feel like camping and I agree. Our three daughters (16, 20, 23) all want to go with us now!

I'm slowly going through every nook and cranny, looking to see how it's put together and looking for problems. So far it's mostly been stuff like loose screws. The worst thing I found was that the front cover of heater was only held on by one screw. The cover (this is behind the heater grill) had dropped off part way so you could look right inside the heater. Without the cover properly in place, there wasn't much air coming out the floor ducts. With the cover on, it all works great.

I do design and maintenace on mobile broadcast vechicles so I'm sort of the opinion that I'd rather fix it myself than take it to the dealer. I've already done several of the projects presented on the forum. Here's an inexpensive easy one from me: Buy some split loom tubing at the auto parts store and enclose all the wires you can find on the outside of the trailer. This gives a nice clean look and will protect the wires. The break-a-way switch is a good place to start... Just work your way back to the junction box.