Outbacker RV Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hellow everyone,

I am a newbie to the forum and the world of TT and hope to learn much from the pros here at the forum.

I am interested in purchasing a new Outback 21RS or 25RS-S and was wondering how my 2002 JGC 4.7L H.O. V-8 (265hp) with a 6,500 pound tow rating would handle towing it.

Some have told me that the short wheel base may be a concern with the larger Outback with a dry weight of 4,655 which may even surpass 5,500 with all the liquids, food, gear, etc. and short wheel base of the JGC may be an issue.

Should I settle with the shorter 21RS? I would really appreciate feedbacks from those who have experience with towing with JGC...

Thank you~

·
Outbackers Contributor
3,580 Posts
You probably would be able to tow the 25rss with you truck but you will most likely be at the limits of your truck weightwise and not be happy with the performance. Also the short wheelbase may come into play if you get into an emergency situation. The trailer could start to overpower the truck. We've been there, we were towing our previous trailer which was 28 feet long and got into a sway situation and almost had an accident. The trailer started to overpower the truck but we were able to regain control using the trailer brakes.

We now tow a 21rs with our yukon which is a little bigger than your jeep with no problems at all. The 21rs would probably be a better match as far as size and weight go for your jeep.