Outbacker RV Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do you carry your bikes?

I know my outback has a bike door for a reason but I use that space for other storage.

I thought about getting a bike carrier that would hook on to the back bumper of my 25RS-S. My concern is that the bumper may not be strong enough and it might be a pain to remove the bikes everytime I need to open the rear slide.

I also thought about installing a front hitch on the Suburban but its more costly and I am not sure how I would like the bikes on the front.

Thoughts, ideas?

·
Registered
93 Posts
I'm a newbie, but I'm sure I read that putting a bike rack on the back of your OB will void the frame warrenty. I have even read that some of the welds may break, on the rear bumper area.

·
Outbackers Contributor
584 Posts
Back bumper bad idea. Welding a receiver to the frame in back is OK but lightens up your tongue and weighs down your tail and may affect sway. Also a little costly unless you weld it yourself.

Frount mount on a Suburban is a good middle ground. Bolt on front mount receiver from Hidden Hitch is not very expensive and easy to install on a Burb. That's the path I took and recommend to others.

·
Outbackers Contributor
2,018 Posts
wercertifyable said:
I'm a newbie, but I'm sure I read that putting a bike rack on the back of your OB will void the frame warrenty. I have even read that some of the welds may break, on the rear bumper area.
[snapback]42998[/snapback]​
You are correct on all accounts.

We put all five bikes in our 26 RS. Two go in the bunk room and three go in the kitchen. I will have someone (probably UHaul) install a receiver hitch mounted to the Outback frame soon. My local trailer business would not install the receiver hitch due to liability (they are worried you will tow your 20' Bayliner behind your Outback).

Randy

·
Outbackers Contributor
1,877 Posts